SOS/AAPT Executive Committee Meeting Wittenberg College February 20, 2010

The Executive Committee meeting of the Southern Ohio Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers was called to order by Vice-President Eric Towers at 10:19 AM. The meeting was held in the Advanced Physics Laboratory (Room 304) of the Barbara Deer Kuss Science Center at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio. Those present were Darwin Church (University of Cincinnati – Clermont), Sandra Doty (Ohio University – Lancaster), Elizabeth George (Wittenberg University), Kathy Harper (Denison University), Frank Huss (Cincinnati Observatory), William Kuhlman (St. Xavier High School), James Sullivan (University of Cincinnati – CAS), and Eric Towers (Summit Country Day School).

Various reports on mailing list were given. S. Doty is working on the e-mail and mail lists. E. George will send the old e-mail list to F. Huss. K. Harper has organized the group to find more e-mail addresses.

The national AAPT is continuing its Associate Member program – sections get 25% of Associate Member dues for new Associate Members.

K. Harper reported that the national AAPT will send a box for display and distribution at section meetings. Such a box will be sent to D. Church for our spring meeting.

F. Huss announced that the next edition of The Dialog will come out in the first week of March.

K. Harper reported on future national AAPT meetings: Portland OR (summer, 2010), Jacksonville FL (winter, 2011), Omaha NE (summer, 2011) and Ontario CA (winter, 2012).

E. George reminded everyone that Ohio State Science Day is Saturday May 8, 2010. Contact Gordon Aubrecht (OSU – aubrecht@mps.ohio-state.edu).

Several positions are up for election this year: President-Elect (3-year commitment), Secretary (1-year term), Treasurer (1-year term), and Vice president for 4 year Colleges (3-year term). K. Harper was appointed to chair the nominations committee. Anyone who wishes to nominate themselves or someone else for an office in the SOS/AAPT should contact her at harperk@denison.edu.

A motion was made and seconded that the positions of secretary and treasurer be changed from one-year terms to three-year terms. The motion passed unanimously. The sense of the group was that these changes should begin taking place in the spring, 2011 elections and that the terms should be staggered so both elections do not come up in the same year.

Future Meetings were then discussed:

- April 10, 2010 University of Cincinnati Clermont College, Batavia OH. Contact Person D. Church (<u>Darwin.church@uc.edu</u>). Preliminary information has been distributed.
 Invited speakers are David Sokoloff and Tom Greenslade. The abstract deadline is March 29th and advanced registration deadline is April 2nd.
- Fall, 2010 Marietta University with Appalachian Section/AAPT and OS/APS. Contact persons: Kevin McChesney and Gordon Aubrecht.
- Spring, 2011 Thomas Worthington High School Contact Person: Jason Grvenec.

- Fall, 2011 Cincinnati Country Day School and Cincinnati Observatory Center, Cincinnati OH (E. Towers and F. Huss). Note that this is a date change.
- Spring 2012. Tentatively Ohio University Lancaster. Contact person S. Doty. A motion was made and seconded to reimburse E. Towers for SOS/AAPT web site expenses to date and he continue to be reimbursed while investigating another site. This motion passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 11:49 AM.

Respectfully Submitted,

James F. Sullivan, Associate Secretary/Treasurer